PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol Fuel on JMT

ramble on
06-19-2011, 07:30
I'm starting my thru hike on 15 August and I'll be using an alcohol stove. I have two questions: is fuel available for purchase at all the food drop locations?, and how much fuel per day should I plan on using? I will only be cooking dinner, along with a cup of tea. I have no experience with an alcohol stove at high elevations. Thanks for replying.

oops56
06-19-2011, 08:15
test stove at home first see how much it fuel use on one boil etc.

Phreak
06-19-2011, 10:18
I have used alcohol stoves on the JMT. I typically carry 1oz of alcohol per day. I only cook dinners and the 1oz is a little more than I need but don't mind having a buffer.

Like in the previous post, test everything out at home and see how much you'll need.

I know for certain Muir Trail Ranch sells alcohol by the ounce but I'm not sure about Reds Meadow or Vermillion Valley.

Slo-go'en
06-19-2011, 10:27
If you plan on eating pasta type meals, expect longer cook times on the JMT (use the high altitude cooking instructions on the side of the package). Therefore, you will likely use somewhat more fuel than you would at home for the same foods. (Unless you already live at high altitudes..)

jasonG
06-19-2011, 15:43
I used a caldera cone alcohol stove last summer and generally used about .75-1 oz per 2cups boiled.

MTR definitely sells denatured by the ounce. Although before you buy, check the hiker bins as you might find some extra somebody left. (last summer found a bottle of HEET and just used that the rest of my trip)

Reds Meadow does NOT sell it in their store. The clerk didn't even know what denatured alcohol was.. I was very surprised. Again you might find some in their hiker bins. The rumor is there that they take stuff out of their hiker bins and resell it in their store so you might find some on their shelves that they are trying to resell.

I didn't go to VVR so not sure...

Kanook
06-29-2011, 00:45