PDA

View Full Version : Goodbye Pepsi Stove

wacocelt
02-03-2005, 16:24
Yes, after 5 years of using denatured alcohol I'm entering the market for a camp stove, to cook for two. I want to be able to cook a variety of foods a variety of ways (ie bacon and eggs, stir-fry) other than just boiling water. I have never used anything other than DA stoves so am clueless about where to start. While you're at it, perhaps someone could suggest a good lightweight combination cook-set which includes multiple pans etc.
Thanks for your time, sorry for being such a stove Newb. :D

Lone Wolf
02-03-2005, 16:25
MSR Pocket Rocket canister stove.

neo
02-03-2005, 16:39
msr pocket rocket is an excelent choice,thats what i carry:sun neo

Lone Wolf
02-03-2005, 16:41
I carried a Peak 1 white gas stove for 15 years. Switched to the PR.

Oracle
02-03-2005, 16:47
Do most of you with alcohol stoves just boil water on them? I've been using an alcohol stove and simmering cozy for a couple of years, and can do just about everything I can do with other stoves. I've fried bacon and eggs, made stir-fry (I have a double-boiler setup, boil rice in the lower boiler and put my stir-fry ingredients in the upper pot, by the time the rice is finished (about 30 minutes) the stir-fry is about half done, a few more minutes on the alcohol stove and it's done). It takes a little more fuel for some meals, but they are certainly doable.

gravityman
02-03-2005, 16:59
Yes, after 5 years of using denatured alcohol I'm entering the market for a camp stove, to cook for two. I want to be able to cook a variety of foods a variety of ways (ie bacon and eggs, stir-fry) other than just boiling water. I have never used anything other than DA stoves so am clueless about where to start. While you're at it, perhaps someone could suggest a good lightweight combination cook-set which includes multiple pans etc.
Thanks for your time, sorry for being such a stove Newb. :D