PDA

View Full Version : Best suppliers, for price and customer service?

TheRaven
06-25-2011, 09:59
I'm new to the hiking world, yeah I've hiked before...but not the way many of you guys/gals do. I used to see a mountain, grab the topo and a thrift store day pack, drive as close as possible and summit it....even if it was only 2-3k feet. The idea of trails is great and much easier.

In any case, what are the best suppliers? Campmor used to be my goto place, but everyone seems to love REI. Why is REI good? I can't see any benefit over others on the surface. Locally I have many outdoor suppliers, but not sure if there and better options online.

ScottP
06-25-2011, 11:02
REI has a large variety of items, great customer service, a rewards program, etc. The only downside to REI is that they don't carry a lot of the smaller manufacturers that often make the best gear out there.

Retailers with good customer service: Zappos, REI, all of the outfitters on the AT in the South

manufacturers with good customer service: OR gear, Zpacks, ULA, leki, Sea to Summit, Nunutak

Manufacturers with bad customer service: six moons designs--the only bad customer service experience I've had in the outdoor industry, one of the ruder customer service experiences I've ever had.

Chubbs4U
06-25-2011, 11:15
REI takes anything back at anytime for any reason.

wcgornto
06-25-2011, 11:29
My customer service experience with six moon designs has been GREAT.