PDA

View Full Version : Wide Light Warm-Weather Sleeping Bag

Chip Irons
07-05-2011, 16:55
Does anyone know of a 2 pound bag that is at least 35 inches wide in the hips?

I like to sleep with one leg hiked up at a 90 degree angle. And because I am 6í1Ē tall, this means I need a bag that is 35-36 inches wide in the middle. Since Iím 185 pounds, it can be narrower at the foot and shoulders.

I found the North Face Mercurial bag (1 lb. 10 oz.), but as best I can tell (at its EU site) it is only 32 inches wide.

I have a 20 degree bag that is 36 inches wide (ALPS Mountaineering), but at 3 lbs 11 ounces, it is too much for early August on the AT in southern Vermont.

Does everyone else sleep with their legs together? I canít be the only one who likes one leg straight and one leg bent. It seems sleeping bag manufacturers are missing this niche of backpackers.

skinewmexico
07-05-2011, 17:05
Sounds like the perfect application for a quilt.

dillard
07-05-2011, 19:10
I doubt your going to find anything that light which is that wide and long enough to accommodate you, material weight just doesn't allow it. I think skine is right in suggesting a quilt.

LIhikers
07-05-2011, 19:19
Try the Montbell Super Stretch series of sleeping bags. They come in different temperature ranges.
I have one and love it. I move around in my sleep a lot and this bag allows me to do that.

Rocket Jones
07-05-2011, 20:38
I have a 40* quilt that I've used comfortably down to 30*, and recently made a summer version from fleece bought at the fabric store. I'm hoping that will be good down to 60* or so.

rsmout
07-06-2011, 13:15