PDA

View Full Version : concept: warmponcho insulation

titanium_hiker
02-05-2005, 23:09
I like the Jacks R Better under quilt, but I'm a broke student who doesn't want to wait for shipping anyway. I also am concerned about volume as well as wieght.

The idea is a warm poncho type thing that would double as outside hammock insulation (it wouldn't also double as rain gear).
Material? I'm open to suggestions, I was thinking maybe fleece, as I don't expect to see snow, or even sub 0*C temps.

I don't want anything that restricts the hammock into a tortilla shape. I like it flat. :jump

anyway, has this been done before? (other than the no snivler)

what about the head hole? I guess a sinch would work. What about shape? should I go for the rectangle or the diamond/banana shape?

any suggestions?

thanks

titanium_hiker

SGT Rock
02-06-2005, 12:31
I did something similar with an Army poncho liner. I think I have somepis somewhere. It wasn't the greatest solution, but I think after seeing a JRB quilt I could do a better job.

Check out this link: http://hikinghq.net/forum/showthread.php?t=761&highlight=underquilt

titanium_hiker
02-06-2005, 14:53
thanks SGT Rock.

umm... with a home made hammock, what about velcro on the edges, and the poncho attached that way? also could be used to enhance the wearablity of the poncho.

thanks again.

titanium_hiker

titanium_hiker
02-06-2005, 14:55
oh, and, how much difference did it make to your comfort? (warmth wise)

titanium_hiker

SGT Rock
02-06-2005, 15:17
Not enough in my opinion, but my errors were mostly in my attachment method. If I had it to do over again I would only fold twice (to make a wider coverage area, my system was too narrow) and then find a way to put draw-cords on either end so it adheres to the bottom of the hammock like a JRB quilt. I would also use an attachment system like JRB because it works so much better and is easier to figure out.

titanium_hiker
02-06-2005, 22:33