PDA

View Full Version : Tentative Start Mid February - opinions on this?

Ehrickah
07-14-2011, 20:16
Two friends i will be hiking with would like to start mid February, going NOBO from GA to ME. At first they wanted to start Feb 1st, but I got them to change it to mid-month because of my concern for the weather during this month, among a few other concerns- but one of my friends is very adamant about beating the crowd so this is the main reason for the early start date.. I know there can be snow in the southern states all the way into May, so we will be hiking in snow to start either way.

I guess i am just looking for opinions on starting mid-Feb. concerns and anything we should be aware of/knowledgeable about before setting off? I have a 20 Degree synthetic EMS bag, and i will be purchasing a liner, probably silk. my friend has a Big Agnes 3 season tent, 3 person, but i will also be bringing my own 2 person Tarptent for the nights that id like to spend alone. I am also looking at a pair of Asolo boots for the trek, either the Fugitives or the TPS 520 GV's. both boots fit great. I am just undecided about whether to hike in leather or not during the summer months, considering leather is not as breathable as the Fugitives. I know the TPS 520's will be better in the winter months, though, with the snow than the fugitives will but both seem to be excellent regardless. I have hardly come across any bad reviews on either boot. and if i have it was an minor detail as to why the person got a different brand.

I know tarptents are highly recommended as well, but i'd also like to know opinions from people on here, especially in regards to the winter months. I haven't found one negative review on these tents either.

As far as everything else, all is in line. Just need to save the appropriate funds for the trip.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Lemni Skate
07-14-2011, 20:30