PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Amicalola Falls to neel's gap july 26

Hwcross82
07-17-2011, 20:41
I am going to hike the approach trail to Neel's gap starting July 26th. I know i may be nuts to do so, but I am committed and ready. I am looking for any news on water sources or wildlife issues in the area. I am not opposed to pairing up with someone for the hike. I am a high school history teacher and a novice hiker so time isn't an issue. Let me know if you have any information for me. My email address is [email protected]. thank you, and happy hiking

FatMan
07-18-2011, 09:19
Wildlife: Always be aware of rattlers as they sometimes are right out on the trail. But be more careful when sitting on rocks or tree trunks when making camp. Bears were all well fed by the thru-hikers and have moved away from the shelters in search of real bear food. But be sure to hang your food as there are lots of little critters that would love to eat through your pack.

Water: We've had plenty of rain so water this year is about as good as it gets in July. The seasonal sources are mostly dry but the more reliable sources are running. Just remember there is no water from Hawk Mtn Shelter to Justus Creek. And that will be as tough of a section you will hike, especially in the conditions you will be hiking.

Weather: Expect oppressive humidity and still air, unless a storm is on the way. It was amazingly cool this weekend and never got above 75. But even at those temps, I was a sweaty mess day hiking because of the humidity. You need to plan on warmer (80-85) temps. And with the humidity and a pack it will feel like 90-100.

This time of year I recommend getting a very early start to beat the heat. Keep a set of dry clothes for evening and sleeping. The clothes you hike and sweat in will never get dry.