PDA

View Full Version : Any other 2012-ers hurting right now?

Stats 2012
07-20-2011, 19:50
I've been prepping for my 2012 thru for two years now. Until three months ago I was feeling great and growing stronger. Now everything is hurting. Feet, knees, hips, shoulders, ear lobes. I haven't done anything different or crazy.

I'll continue to work through it, but was wondering if anyone else has experienced any such setbacks? (No fair for you current thru-hikers chiming in. ;))

Storm
07-20-2011, 20:17
I was really doing great, had been training for a couple years also, walked over 1200 miles last year. Then in November I started to have back issues. After several tests, xray, mri, found that I had four deteriating discs and one herniated disc in my lower back. Went to therapy for 2 months with little or no relief. Then had two sets of epidural injections in my back. They didn't cure it but gave me enough relief that I could get back to normal activities. Over the winter I gained over 20 pounds and lost a lot of the strength I had gained. For an old guy it isn't easy to start over but I pushed through it. I have shed some of the weight and one day this past week walked for over ten miles with a pack. (only 15 lbs). I am still planning to be ready by April. My only hope is that I don't further injure my back so I am taking it slow and steady.

burger
07-20-2011, 20:49
Um, do you have Lyme disease?

stars in her eyes
07-20-2011, 23:28
I've been prepping for my 2012 thru for two years now. Until three months ago I was feeling great and growing stronger. Now everything is hurting. Feet, knees, hips, shoulders, ear lobes. I haven't done anything different or crazy.

I'll continue to work through it, but was wondering if anyone else has experienced any such setbacks? (No fair for you current thru-hikers chiming in. ;))

Have you been tested for Lymes recently?

Ah, just noticed someone else posted the same thing. Seriously though -- get thee to a doctor, stat.

LDog