PDA

View Full Version : GPS question: Track vs. Route

10-K
07-25-2011, 15:42
I've got a Garmin eTrex Vista Hcx.

Heretofore (love that word) I've always moved a track from my software (Basecamp) to the GPS and when I turned on the GPS the track automagically appears on the screen and I'm ready to go.

This time I've created a route instead of a track and copied it to the GPS. I've never used the route feature before.

When it comes to navigating with the GPS what is the difference between a route and a track?

SassyWindsor
07-25-2011, 21:59
A Route is what you create prior to travel , a track is where you, and gps, have already traveled.
Note: Carry a compass, even a zip, the Vista Compass has a reputation of problems.

Wise Old Owl
07-25-2011, 22:07
Sassy's got the right answer, and the data is less laden, meaning that to set up a route one only has to put in a few waypoints and the Garmin will nail them for you..

Example setting up a route to cross a bay on a kayak - when you get across a huge body of water - the one point is to find the mouth to a river or a canal just some 2o feet amongst miles of inland coast.... the system will show deviation from route and point for correction of travel to nail the canal's location.

SassyWindsor
07-25-2011, 22:22
I would like to add, that you can, with Mapsource, create and edit TrackLogs which can then be uploaded into the GPS. I would still call this a route, of sorts, especially if you intend on using it in the future. I have used these edit tools on actual TrackLogs to reduce the "clutter" that happens when the unit is left on. I would also recommend to anyone who plans on using a GPS to really, really, get to know the unit and practice in an area you know. Know it's limitations and still carry a map and compass.

10-K
07-25-2011, 22:39
Yeah, I'm going to take the GPS on the Art Loeb Trail Wednesday and I made a route out of the GPX file and uploaded it to the GPS.