PDA

View Full Version : food storage questions-- bear canisters

DavidNH
07-29-2011, 18:12
Hi guys,

Food storage is always an issue. Along the AT, most hikers hang their food. Other trails one is required to carry a bear canister. My question is, if I were to use an approved bear canister for food storage, then I don't have to hang the food in the canister right? can the filled bear canister just be left against a tree trunk somewhere? I'm assuming we want to place the bear canister a little ways off from the sleeping quarters right? Might the bears just roll the darn canister into some stream?

so to condense my question.. if I bring along an approved bear canister.. and I have it filled with food, garbage, and any other odiferous items, and It is properly shut.. where does the canister go and stay whilst I sleep? and yes I have never used a bear canister before so I honestly don't know the answer.

DavidNH

lilricky
07-29-2011, 19:55
There lies one of the problems with bear canisters. The idea behind the canisters is that the bears will give up trying to get at the food after a while and just leave it. The only problem is one that you pointed out, the bears love to play kick ball with it. Meaning your canister will not be in the same place you left it. The "solution" is that you're supposed to leave it somewhere away from cliffs/streams/ravines/etc, which is not always an option. Some people use Opsaks or other scent blocking bags inside their canisters and try hiding it as best they can. Others have tied it up and treated it as a bear bag. I knew one guy who sprinkled curry powder on his, to "discourage wildlife from approaching it", unluckily for him he found the only Indian food loving bear in the forest. I never did find my can ;).

30 Large
07-29-2011, 19:58
When hiking out west, where canisters are mostly mandatory, I hang my canister just as I would a bag.

Iceaxe
07-29-2011, 20:12