PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

JREDWINE
02-12-2005, 01:39
I am somewhat new to hiking and camping. Me and three friends are looking to take a "beginners" trip for a weekend excursion. I have just a few questions that you experts may be able to help me with.

1. We will be looking to hike in the Smokies, probably arriving in the Gatlinburg area. We are looking for a section that we could do in 2.5 days time. Here are some other requirements we are looking for:

A. Must be able to camp each night, have a campfire, sleep in tents or cowboying.
B. Would like to include some of the more scenic sites this part of the Smokies has to offer.
C. Never mind C, I think that's it!

We will be taking this trip in late may/early june.

Is there some resource or "Map" that might lay one of these weekend type trips out? We do not, however, want to do a guided trip, as the purpose of this trip is to be by ourselves. (No were not gay!:D )

Any help is appreciated. I just don't want this to turn into "Without a Paddle"!:D

SGT Rock
02-12-2005, 07:59
Well, with all this time you should go ahead and write or call the Park Service and get their trail map sent to you because it has all the campsites and their regs listed on it. Some of the most scenic areas are in places that the camping requires you stay in shelters, so what you might plan is a Zig-Zag sort of pattern that allows you to walk on the AT and other cool places while camping off on the side trails where camping in a tent is allowed. It will probably mean more ups and downs.

hikerjohnd
02-12-2005, 08:34
There is a book out called The Best Of the Appalachian Trail: Overnight Hikes by Frank & Victoria Logue. It may have some info for you - your local library should be able to secure a copy through inter-library loan if they do not have one on hand - or check out ABE Books (http://www.abebooks.com) - they have great prices from many used book stores!

Lone Wolf
02-12-2005, 08:38