PDA

View Full Version : Hola! from a newbie to the forum

GABuckeye311
08-18-2011, 13:46
I have been a "lurker" on the site for some time and finally decided to join in the fun.

I am 32 and living with my family in North Georgia (about 1 hour from Springer Mountain) I am somewhat new to hiking, I have always wanted to take part but never went ahead and did it. This past January a buddy of mine and I went on our first section hike. We did Springer to Woody Gap in a weekend. We decided to start slow since it was our first trip and I am glad we did because, as do a lot of people, we took WAY to much stuff. I enjoyed it more then I can possibly explain other then to say that I got the "bug."

I recently partially tore my ACL and have not been able to get out this year. I am thinking about taking my 5 year old out to get his first taste of the trail and am here to get myself motivated.

Thats my intorduction...Nice to meet you all!

GABuckeye311

scope
08-18-2011, 13:52
:welcome you're sick now, no known cure except to hike! Hoping knee gets better soon.

Skidsteer
08-18-2011, 13:53
I have been a "lurker" on the site for some time and finally decided to join in the fun.

I am 32 and living with my family in North Georgia (about 1 hour from Springer Mountain) I am somewhat new to hiking, I have always wanted to take part but never went ahead and did it. This past January a buddy of mine and I went on our first section hike. We did Springer to Woody Gap in a weekend. We decided to start slow since it was our first trip and I am glad we did because, as do a lot of people, we took WAY to much stuff. I enjoyed it more then I can possibly explain other then to say that I got the "bug."

I recently partially tore my ACL and have not been able to get out this year. I am thinking about taking my 5 year old out to get his first taste of the trail and am here to get myself motivated.

Thats my intorduction...Nice to meet you all!

GABuckeye311