PDA

View Full Version : Killing Time in my Cube

Double Wide
08-19-2011, 16:49
Ok, it's Friday afternoon, I've lost all motivation to work, and the clock seems to be going backwards. I've read and re-read almost all of the topics of interest here, and now I'm bored.

So I thought I'd start a discussion that is sure to stir up some colorful answers. Not only that, I'm sure it would be a good source of info.

Anyhow, the question is, What is the absolute worst piece of gear you ever bought, and what happened that made you feel like a chump for getting it?

I'll go first, since I brought it up. I'm relatively new at this whole backpacking thing, and while visions of a thru-hike dance in my head, I've been slowly pushing the car-camping gear to the back of the storage shed, and now I'm filling up the closet with new backpacking gear. I've got the basics, but the dumbest move I've made so far was buying a Eureka Backcountry 1 tent. :o

Big mistake. I was a price shopper and got it from Amazon for like $130, and all of the reviews were pretty good. But that eight-foot length was not even close to being usable length, and with the fly on, it was a damn oven. I realized that I'm a side sleeper that first night, and it was just too narrow for me. Also, it had no vestibule. I didn't think it would be a problem at all, except when I actually *used* it and realized that I had no place to put my pack or my boots. Duh.

Luckily, Amazon has a generous return policy, so after that one night, I rolled it up and shipped it back, getting a full refund. A few weeks ago, I took advantage of the sale at REI and grabbed one of their Quarterdome T2 tents, and couldn't be happier with it. In fact, I'm taking it out into the woods two, maybe three times over the course of the next month. Probably find some other piece of gear I don't like while I'm out there, too...

Mr. BuffaloMan
08-19-2011, 17:05