PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here! Seeking for insightful information on thru-hiking!

willow!
08-23-2011, 02:28
Hello all! I'm 17 years old, and thinking about thru-hiking the AT in a couple years or so. I'm graduating this spring, and would like to set out into the woods before thinking about college. I made up my mind about doing this about a year ago, and every day I become more and more eager to get on the challenging trail. I've read a ton on the general information of the AT, but i'd really like to know specifics. More so on the right kind of gear(affordable prices), an average price range that all of this will take, and mainly just important info on the whole deal from those who have hiked it. I'd like to wait till i'm at least 19 or 20 years old before starting, just so I can prepare myself. And I definitely need to start saving up $$$! I know I have quite a while, but there's no harm in early preparation, right? :-)

And any other young women who have thru-hiked close to my age, and have some advice, i'd absolutely love to hear it!!

Thanks so much
-Willow
(thinking of making that my trail name)

Big Dawg
08-23-2011, 02:57
:welcome to WB! Spend some time searching this site for a lot of the information you're looking for. There's a treasure tove here. Many here will chime in w/ details. Best of luck! Have fun!

Rocket Jones
08-23-2011, 06:22
+1 on just searching through the archives. Also, there's a ton of great info in the Articles section.

Old Hiker
08-23-2011, 07:47
Welcome! The Articles are a GREAT place to start. You can always learn something new. Just remember: Hike Your Own Hike (HYOH), as everyone has an opinion. Start by trying gear out if you can. Formulate your own likes and dislikes, don't just follow the herd. Haunt the Goodwill stores, etc. for cheaper gear. Start saving money NOW.

And never, ever bring up: guns, dogs or how long cheese will last on the Trail. Your Mileage May Vary (YMMV).