PDA

View Full Version : Should I follow through with my Baxter/Acadia St Park plans In lieu of the Hurricane?

Magazine
08-24-2011, 10:13
Hi All,
I am planning a weeklong trip (8/26-9/6) through Baxter St Park (travelers trail and Mt Katahdin) and Acadia State Park (Beehive/Precipice Trail and Cadillac Mt).

I you were me, considering the storm, would you travel roughly 6 hours to begin the trip in light of the pending storm (from Boston)? How do you think the storm would affect Baxter...worst case scenario? Just a bit of rain right...(fingers crossed)?

I guess I'm wondering if some of you seasoned hikers would second guess your trip considering the "apocalypse" (lol). I've been making arrangements for about two months now and I'd hate to see that work go down the drain. I'm not afraid of rain but I don't like the idea of falling trees.

What are your thoughts?

Nutbrown
08-24-2011, 10:17
Not sure what the storm will do in Maine. Usually it rains for 2 days then beautiful. It might break up and rain on you longer than that though. I'd do it, just make sure your dry sack is solid!

peakbagger
08-24-2011, 13:22
I am heading up to Baxter Friday AM, based on the forecast and planning to climb the mountain on Saturday, I have a hotel room in reserve for Sunday night. Whatever happens it should blow through pretty quickly. The roads in baxter could suffer some damage from heavy rain but they usually can get them reopened fairly quickly.

Magazine
08-24-2011, 13:31
whoa, should have proof-read my post. Thanks for your responses! My plan is to go unless the weather looks VERY severe or my partner poops out!

Good Luck Peakbagger, Ill bet you have lovely weather! My plan was to climb Mt K. on monday, I hope it will be possible!

Blissful
08-24-2011, 14:51
I wouldn't go to Acadia, save it for later, but I'd check with the park (Acadia) on trail conditions afterwards. It's gonna be wet in Maine for a few of those days. The rivers can get high quick.

sweeper