PDA

View Full Version : Finally made the decision - I'm hiking it next year.

Supernovasky
08-29-2011, 12:35
So I've been researching the Appalachian trail for a few years now. I got my first exposure to it when I was working for the student conservation association in Massachusetts and met a few hikers that had stopped by our lodge for a little while. I did not even know of its existance before that, but they told me of this great trail that stretches across the country, that many people attempt to hike each year, and for hours, I listened to their stories about how their experience was lifechanging. I knew then and there that eventually I'd hike the trail.

Fast forward a few years, and I'm finally in the position to hike the trail next year. I am saving up money, I've got a pretty good job, and I'm ready to go ahead and do this. As of now it will be a solo, but if I find someone to join me in the next few months, that would be great.

Here are some things I could possibly use a little discussion on....

First thing, my long term girlfriend is very unhappy about this. She is worried about not being with me for months, and she is physically unable to do the hike herself. She doesnt have the motivation or the dream, nor can she really go long distances on her feet. She's having trouble understanding why I want to do this, and she's worried about her ability to find a place to live without me paying rent for 5 months. I told her I would help her as much as possible, but that this whole thing means a whole lot to me.