PDA

View Full Version : A Photo Geek's Trail Camera

LDog
09-11-2011, 21:33
My latest blog entry covers my thoughts on which camera I'm going to take on my thru attempt next year. 'Course, I've been a photographer all my life ...

http://laughingdawg.blogspot.com/

Feral Bill
09-11-2011, 21:50
Very lucid discussion. Thank you.

Odd Man Out
09-11-2011, 23:50
I'm no photo geek, but after a lot of reading last spring, I got the Canon S95 for birthday/fathers day (had to combine two gifts into one to justify the $$). I really love it. Haven't had it backpacking yet, but got back from Yosemite a month ago (stayed in the lodge and day hiked). It has this awesome low light setting.

LDog
09-12-2011, 00:06
Nice photo! I really think the S95 is the best quality to weight. To step up to a bigger sensor, one has to strap on a lot more weight. It may be the ultimate backpacking camera for those looking for quality imagery at this point in time -as long as one takes steps to protect it.

Trail
09-12-2011, 00:11
Someone recently posted the link below which is for a hiker/photographer's thru hike. His photos are probably the best pics of the AT I've seen. I realize he has an eye for good pics being a photographer but I was tempted to contact him to see what camera he uses. Awesome!

http://benbenvieblog.com/tag/appalachian-trail/

LDog
09-12-2011, 09:22
Thank you for that link. Amazing photos. He has a great eye.

rhjanes
09-12-2011, 09:32
Someone recently posted the link below which is for a hiker/photographer's thru hike. His photos are probably the best pics of the AT I've seen. I realize he has an eye for good pics being a photographer but I was tempted to contact him to see what camera he uses. Awesome!

http://benbenvieblog.com/tag/appalachian-trail/From another thread, from Ben:Ben Benvie: "I used a Canon 5d Mark II with a 35mm 1.4 lens. No flash, no tripod. It's big and heavy but I love it."

LDog
09-12-2011, 09:47