PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 months

mattb528
09-15-2011, 18:10
Hi All!

I just joined and am pleased to see so many people interested in the AT. I am originally from New Jersey and have lots of experience on the Appalachian Trail around there. I am currently a sophomore at the University of Colorado but decided I can't wait any longer to start my thru hike. I want to do it this summer and that would only give me about 3.5 months to finish. Has anyone hiked the whole thing in this short of time? I am in excellent shape and will only get better due to the high altitude of the CO mountains. I figured the sooner the better because I don't know when I'll be able to dedicate 6 months of my life to the hike. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

hikerboy57
09-15-2011, 18:16
Jen Pharr Davis recently broke the "supported" speed hiking record at under 47 days. Outside of that , 3.5 months will probably leave you somewhere in NY/NJ. its pretty tough to average over 20 miles a day with no zeros.

Jeff
09-15-2011, 18:37
Welcome to Whiteblaze !!!

Hike as far as you can in 3.5 months. The remainder will always be there for you to finish in the future.

Many fit hikers finish the trail in 5 months comfortably. 3.5 months would really be pushing hard...maybe too hard.

nehiker
09-15-2011, 18:52