PDA

View Full Version : Total newb here- question about georgia in November

BlakeGrice
09-16-2011, 23:54
Hey guys like the subject says- total newb. Im 35 and my wife is 33. Aside from humping a ruck sack in the army - my hiking experience is minimal I suppose. Anyway- one of my best friends nearly did a complete thru hike several years back and it kinda planted the seed for me. A thru hike at this time in my life is impossible- young kids, jobs, etc. Anyway, so I dismissed the thought. Then I read AWOL on the AT. Great book by the way. Ok so my question is this- Springer Mtn to State line. I believe its @ 80 miles. Would November around thanksgiving be too cold to do this? Im thinking around 5 days. Question 2- is 15-17 miles per day on that section realistic? Wife will be with me but she is in real good shape- crossfit, etc. question 2- Would you carry enough food for all 5 days or is there a town along the way to re-up? Would you bring a tent or just use the shelters?

Thanks in advance for your help- and if this is a horrible idea let me know lol.

Jim Adams
09-17-2011, 00:16
BlakeGrice,
Should be a great hike but it will probably be cold due to altitude....could be in the teens at night. Camp near shelters because 1. that time of year shouldn't be crowded and 2. water, privies and bear cables are at the shelters but stay in a tent...you will be much warmer in the tent.

15-17 miles / day doesn't seem bad if you are in shape but the climbs will definitely slow you down and that mileage may be a little difficult depending on the weight of your packs. Geogia is steeper than you imagine if you have never been there on the AT.

Have fun, take your time and enjoy your first backpacking trip.

geek

Trailweaver
09-17-2011, 00:18