PDA

View Full Version : ok guys- revised schedule for THanksgiving hike

BlakeGrice
09-20-2011, 00:17
Hello everyone- like I said in my original thread- newbie here. I had this vision of hiking Springer to the state line in 4 days. Y'all have educated me otherwise and I realize that is a stretch. So here in my updated agenda- see what you think.

23 Nov 11
Springer Mountain to Hawk Mountain Shelter 7.8 Miles. I am bringing a small 2 man tent for my wife and I, as I think the tent would be warmer than the shelter- and from what I understand in November it could get real cold.

24 Nov 11
7am depart from Hawk Mtn. Shelter and hike 12.3 to Woody Gap. 2 options here- and its depending on how cold my wife gets on night 1 lol. Option a- tent or shelter. Option 2- Hitch to town to stay in Hiker hostel hikerhostel.com.

25 Nov 11
Woody Gap to Neels gap 10.6 miles. Another optional hostel there for 15 bucks a piece.

Ok do I originally stopped it there. @ 30 miles. I have worked in an optional 4th day--

26 Nov 11
Optional long day--- Neels Gap to unicoi gap- 20 miles. Will have a car waiting at Unicoi.

So I am thinking that trip is doable for a first outing. 30-50 miles over 4 days.

I don't want to kill myself on the trip- but not looking for a leisurely hike either. I want to come home with a sense of accomplishment.

I am pretty knowledgable about outdoors in general including land navigation, first aid, fire, water purification, etc

Im not sure what the best options for food will be- MRE's the whole trip for evening meal? Should I carry food that can be cooked in alcohol stove or campfire? I really don't know what the easiest thing there would be.

Also- what is the best way to clean your water for drinking? By best, I mean quickest but at the same time killing anything that would make me sick.

Input is appreciated.

Trailweaver
09-20-2011, 01:24