PDA

View Full Version : "Backpacker" Mag's Starter Kit

Dances with Mice
02-27-2005, 11:48
"Backpacker" Magazines's Gear Guide issue, March 2005, has a couple of pages devoted to their idea of "affordable, no fuss hiking gear" chosen for beginners. The editors based their choices on "user friendly features, low maintenance longevity, and reasonable prices."

So for pack, tent, pad, bag, stove, cookset, headlamp, poles, and GPS (?!), I calculate that their list came to over 19 pounds and over $750. But check my math, I'm an engineer.

I believe that for that much money I could replace all my equipment and have enough left over to upgrade my camera. Anybody want to take a shot at a suggested gear list for beginners? Here's 'Backpacker's, I hope the formatting works out.

Gear Recommendation.................Price............We ight
Backpack Lafuma Precision 60.......... $150.............5# 9oz
(3700 cu. in)

Kelty Gunnison 2 Tent......................$130.............5# 11 oz
(37 cu ft.)

Kelty Sonora Sleeping Bag................ $100.............3# 2 oz

Pad - Insul Mat Maxx Thermo............ $55...............1# 8 oz

MSR Blacklite Cookset...................... $35...............1# 6 oz

Brunton’s Raptor Stove.................... $40................ 5 oz

Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp.................... $36................ 3 oz

Garmin Fore Trex 101 GPS................$139.............. 3 oz

REI’s Traverse Trekking Poles............ $75................1# 5oz

Total..........................................$76 0..............19# 4 oz

Lone Wolf
02-27-2005, 11:51
Backpacker Ragazine sucks. What do they know. Nobody on thier staff backpacks. :banana

NICKTHEGREEK
02-27-2005, 13:00
Backpacker Ragazine sucks. What do they know. Nobody on thier staff backpacks. :banana