PDA

View Full Version : Correct placement of ground sheet

kayaker4ever
10-13-2011, 23:10
There is so much information on this site and I'm a new member so this may be a repeat.
I learned a long time ago to put my ground sheet on the floor inside my tent and not under the tent. The only reason to put it under the tent is if you want to keep the bottom pretty so you can sell the tent later. When it is under the tent and there is rain, the rain will get between the ground sheet and the tent bottom and pool. Then the water will cause condensation on the inside of the floor and your gear will soak it up. Even if it doesn't rain, condensation is bound to form on the inside due to temperature difference. If you put it on the inside the condensation will be between the floor and the ground sheet and none of your gear will get wet. I've been doing this for 25 years and never had a problem with any thing getting wet. I did have a problem before I started doing this. By the way, when I get home I wash the outside bottom of the tent.

ChinMusic
10-13-2011, 23:18
I don't use a ground sheet, but if I did it would be UNDER the tent and a size smaller than the footprint of my tent.

leaftye
10-14-2011, 00:48
If it's not raining I put the ground sheet under my tent (Hexamid) to keep it cleaner. If it rains, I put it inside because it works better with the Hexamid that way.

ChinMusic
10-14-2011, 09:28
If it's not raining I put the ground sheet under my tent (Hexamid) to keep it cleaner. If it rains, I put it inside because it works better with the Hexamid that way.

With the Hexamid, I agree. But it is a different beast.

Rain Man
10-14-2011, 09:40
I've been doing this for 25 years and never had a problem with any thing getting wet. I did have a problem before I started doing this.

Soooo... what's the question/problem, then? You didn't ask a question, so you just passing along the wisdom of your experience?

Rain:sunMan

Hooch
10-14-2011, 09:59