PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hike between college and medical school

vivek16
10-22-2011, 15:07
Hi all,

I've been lurking here for quite a while and really enjoying it. I'm currently a sophomore in college and I'll hopefully be attending medical school immediately after I graduate. I'm planning on graduating a semester early (so I'll be done by late December of 2013) and medical schools generally start in the beginning of August. I love the idea of a thru-hike and really want to do one in that time frame. I think it would be an awesome break for academics and will let me get some actual experience with life.

I don't have a lot of experience hiking (I've done about a week on the superior hiking trail with an 18 mile day in there) but I do plan on getting plenty more (although I don't really have the time to commit to anything longer than a week or two in the summers). I know that I'll need to train and I will have time to train and get in shape by then.

What I'm asking is, when will I have to start to finish comfortably (maybe a week or so) before August? What should I plan for? What should my travel arrangements be in case I don't get to Katahdin in time?

thanks,

vivek

Panzer1
10-22-2011, 15:11
Plan on it taking a full 6 months to do a thru hike without having to hurry.
6 months wil give you enough time to enjoy your hike, take some zero days, and move at a comfortable pace.
You can do it in less time if you want to hurry.

if you start in February, you will have 6 full months, but it will be quite cold, very cold actually. In other words you will freeze your nuts off.

Panzer

Panzer1
10-22-2011, 15:36
If you leave in April, you will have enjoyable weather, and plenty of other hikers for company. It will be much more fun. Then just hike half the trail. Hike the other half the following year.

Panzer

vivek16
10-22-2011, 16:37