PDA

View Full Version : I'm trying to decide what size pack I need.

Freeze55
10-25-2011, 16:11
I'm planning a week long backpacking trip next month and I'm in the process of buying my gear but I'm not really sure what size pack I need for this. I already have a tent (Eureka Spitfire I) and a sleeping bag (Slumberjack Latitude). I'm really new at this so any help is appreciated.

clsvideo
10-25-2011, 16:18
I have a 60 liter pack. I think that's a good size to start with depending upon how your tent and sleeping bag pack down. Depends how much stuff you are carrying too. I'm pretty minimalist without giving up comfort.

hikerboy57
10-25-2011, 16:23
get your gear list together first, as pack size depends greatly on what you're bringing. I use an Osprey Atmos65, some here go a lot smaller, so it all depends on the rest of your kit.

Beeobee
10-25-2011, 16:27
Try this Lay out your stuff for the trip on the floor. Shape it like a backpack, measure and get a rough estimate of size you need.
Peace

Papa D
10-25-2011, 17:26
under 40 liters - ultra-light backpacker - relies on a lot of re-supplies and good weather
40-50 liters - experienced. lightweight, probably fast 3- season backpacker - dialed in
55-65 liters - current average (in my opinion) for most moderately weight conscious solid backpackers - I usually carry an Osprey 60L pack for multi day
65-75 liters - winter backpacking or backpacking with a lot of extra gear - like a climbing rack and rope (or a bunch of unnecessary stuff)
75 liter or larger back packs are rarely seen being carried by serious backpackers these days - like a Dana Terraplane (R.I,P. , 100 liters!)

By the way, a liter equals about 61 cubic inches, so if you see a pack that's 3700 c.i., it's about a 60 liter pack.

BobTheBuilder
10-25-2011, 17:49
under 40 liters - ultra-light backpacker - relies on a lot of re-supplies and good weather
40-50 liters - experienced. lightweight, probably fast 3- season backpacker - dialed in