PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and seeking realistic opinions.

Catscradle
10-30-2011, 13:19
Hi, by way of introduction I'm a newbie to this forum and to hiking for that matter. I'm a retired software engineer and have recently rekindled thoughts of hiking the AT end-to-end. When I first heard of the AT I wanted to do it, but raising 4 sons through college and other realities forestalled it. I thought it was a goal gone forever due to my age, but recent readings lead me to believe many people do it in their declining years and that has re-sparked my interest. The earliest I could do it would be spring of 2012, I'd be 66, but more likely the spring of 2013 when I'd be 67. If asked why I want to do this, I can only plagerize George Mallory and say "because it's there". I haven't much hiking experience, I've hiked a couple of mountains in NH but that's about it. However, I've a friend in mind who'll be retiring soon and has much hiking experience.
I'm in good shape for my age. I've been running regularly for 40+ years and still jog over 20 miles a week. I've run 13 marathons over the years plus countless other road races which includes a 7+ mile roadrace up Mt. Washington in NH. If I do this I intend to augment my running with hill work with a pack, either in the real world or on my treadmill.
I joined this forum for advice from people and for realistic opinions as to whether or not I should be even considering this task at my age. I would especially appreciate feedback from people who have done the AT after age 60. I've no doubt at all I could have done the AT probably up to age 50, but now ....
Thanks for any feedback, positive or negative, anybody has.
Steve Ellis.

Raul Perez
10-30-2011, 13:27
In June 2011 I ran into Chupa a 70 year old thru hiker in NY while I was doing a section hike. Have at it!

Pedaling Fool
10-30-2011, 13:36