PDA

View Full Version : Is thru-hiking the best way to appreciate the beauty of trails?

Kookork
11-02-2011, 20:37
This summer after thru-hiking of the Bruce Trail my friends started to ask me specific questions about the specific parts of the trail and my answer was almost always like this:

I don’t remember. I don’t know. I am not sure and so on and so forth

In my case I was too focused on the mission of being a “Thru-hiker” or as we say here in Canada” End to End hiking” that many times I forgot to enjoy the moments.

Something was always telling me” just go ,do not waste too much time….finish line is there and you have limited time.

I have no experience on American Trails but I think it might be the same.

Sometimes we are in such a mental rush that we devour the trails instead of chewing them graciously.

What do you think?

Tipi Walter
11-02-2011, 21:17
The "Fast and Light" hysteria has brainwashed most modern day backpackers. It's strongly related to the testosterone-induced retardation so common in "timed" events. Examples heard: "Gotta stay on schedule." "High mileage days are vital." "Gotta finish 2,000 miles." "Must carry minimal weight and resupply every four days." But what's wrong with "Slow and Heavy"? The bag nights are still the same.

stranger
11-02-2011, 21:18