PDA

View Full Version : early warning system

smilyjay
11-08-2011, 10:12
Leopard in mind I'm totally new to all of this. Me and my brothers are going tent camping in the mountains of callous county west virginia on some land our grandfather owns. I'm told there are a lot of bears around and I'm worried about them. My question is if I were to run rope in a circle around my camp site and hang Christmas bells from it, could it warn me if a bearish coming into camp in time to react appropriately. I will be taking all precautions to prevent bears coming to my camp such as cooking away from my tent and hanging food but I'm still worried. And any other advice would be appreciated.

smilyjay
11-08-2011, 10:14
That was supposed to say keep in mind my phone auto completed sorry

Lone Wolf
11-08-2011, 10:17
claymores.........

swjohnsey
11-08-2011, 10:18
Don't worry about bears. It is the wolverines you gotta worry about.

Blissful
11-08-2011, 10:19
I wouldn't worry about it. Keep a clean camp and wear earplugs at night.

Doc Mike
11-08-2011, 10:43
where in WV?
No worries about the bears almost no one gets eatin by black bears.

hikerboy57
11-08-2011, 10:56
claymores.........+1 on this. or bring a corkscrew, they're scared to death of them.

JAK
11-08-2011, 11:00
Actuallly Leopards might work, but bells and string are probably easier to pack.

Tipi Walter
11-08-2011, 11:01
If you're really phobic about it you could either get a backpacker's electric bear fence (used in griz country)---as sited below. Or purchase a cheap freon air horn, pocket size, and something recommended by grizzly experts (pic).

http://www.udap.com/bearshock.htm

http://www.baitnhook.net/images/products/display/pocket.jpg

hikerboy57
11-08-2011, 11:10
If you're really phobic about it you could either get a backpacker's electric bear fence (used in griz country)---as sited below. Or purchase a cheap freon air horn, pocket size, and something recommended by grizzly experts (pic).