PDA

View Full Version : more hikers rescueded at mt. rogers

Frog
03-03-2005, 07:44
Two hikers left saturday to hike around at Mount Rogers till monday. On sunday a winter storm came in and left around 8 new inches of snow on top of what was already there. On monday i assume since it was still snowing they stayed at the shelter and didnt attemp to leave. Rescuers tried to find them on tuesday with a failed attemp. It was still snowing and the wind was extremly strong. Finally on wednesday a state police helicoper found them and got them out. After two rescues this year will they try and stop us from coming up there in winter or will they stop us and inspect our packs. I dont understand the rescues but thats me i have been hiking since 1975 every winter in NC tenn va even up on grandfather mtn at 6 below zero with windchills 30 below zero and not had to be rescued. What is some of your thoughts on this

SGT Rock
03-03-2005, 07:50
The fact is not everyone has the experience or respect for what winter hiking is really like. Someone thinks about a cool hike with snow on the ground and doesn't think of second and third effects that go with that.

Lone Wolf
03-03-2005, 07:57
www.bristolnews.com/

c.coyle
03-03-2005, 08:15
A snippet from the newspaper article pretty much says it all:

" ... They hadn’t paid particularly close attention to the weather ... "

MOWGLI
03-03-2005, 09:09
What is some of your thoughts on this

My thoughts are that this kind of thing can & does happen. Learn from this story. I wouldn't be sending my winter gear home before Pearisburg. It can be freezing near Mt Rogers well into May. That's a 5000' peak in the mountains.

The Old Fhart
03-03-2005, 11:02