PDA

View Full Version : Proposal for Class Credit of AT Thru-Hike

Kalell
11-09-2011, 22:56
Used to be a guide, bought (and was ready to go) all the gear for a NOBO thru hike for last year. Now I am putting together a proposal to present to a Leisure Studies program faculty panel at a local university that hiking the AT is worth college credit. The chair of the department is a thru-hiker so hopefully that will help. If anyone has any resources, quantifiable data, anything really that would bolster my proposition I would greatly appreciate it. Ultimately teaching recreation/leisure studies at a university would be a dream job, this could just be that first step. I have a Bachelors Degree in Outdoor Recreation with a Masters Degree in Education. Soon, hopefully, a doctorate in recreation. Thanks for any and all assistance.
Kalell

jesse
11-10-2011, 03:55
A person could get a Student Loan to finance their thru hike. Then join OWS, and demand their loan be forgiven.

4eyedbuzzard
11-10-2011, 07:30
You're not the first to propose this if memory serves. I think I've seen both college and HS attempts at getting credit for an AT thru. Someone a few years back talked about it - you might find it in the archives here on WB. If I remember correctly they were denied and couldn't sell the idea to their dept chairs, but good luck.

Doc Mike
11-10-2011, 07:35