PDA

View Full Version : Noob here!

Jeffrey Scott Wise
11-10-2011, 10:28
Heya all!

New here. Planning to leave Springer Mtn April 1 2013 and making it to Mount Katahdin sometime after that :)

Learned alot by reading posts so far. Thank you for all the knowledge so far. Starting getting gear together and saving money.

Just woke up one day, realized I was 40, and all ive done since college was work and get married, with brief weekends in the woods. Time to live life, and not let the career dictate it.

Getting in shape, hiking in the mountains most weekends, and 4-5 days a week in the gym.

One question, what is a recommended digital camera for such a trek? keeping storage in mind, and obviously weight.

Thanks all, I really look forward to seeing some of you on the trail, making new friends, and an adventure of a lifetime.

Peace
Jeffro

rowan
11-10-2011, 10:53
Hi there, noobs unite! I also recently joined the forum, and am also planning a through-hike in the spring. I will be finding myself a dig-cam, and although I don't know specifics, I can recommend cannons. If you find the right cam, they have a super fast shutter speed and quick focus, which is key for moving objects. I'll definitely be looking in that direction when its time to buy. Best of luck!

corialice81
11-10-2011, 10:58
i used a sony cybershot and here is a link to the quality of photos it took: www.cholladay.smugmug.com

(ps. I'm not a photographer by any means)

Jeffrey Scott Wise
11-10-2011, 11:37
Corialice, those are some great photo's. Nice Blister! :) Thanks for the advice.

Rowan, are you planning on 2012, or 2013?

Either way those Mayans better be wrong about the world ending in 2012 before my hike.

rowan
11-10-2011, 14:43