PDA

View Full Version : Granite Gear Blaze AC 60

SylvanHiker
11-12-2011, 20:49
I'm fairly new to the world of hiking so I've been furiously reading reviews of gear and frequenting online hiking gear retailers in search of the right gear to start out with! I know its a little far in the future but I'm planning a thru-hike of the AT with a college friend in March of 2013. I have my eye on the Granite Gear Blaze AC 60. It seems like it would be large enough for a thru-hike and only weighs 2 lbs. 14 oz. It is also hydration compatible which is important to me. Also receiving the Backpacker Editor's Choice Award seems like a nice bonus. I was just wondering if there is anyone here with personal experience with the Blaze AC 60? Any glaring flaws?

Hoofit
11-12-2011, 22:07
Wait a year - it may improve the selection..
Hey, what's the rush?

SylvanHiker
11-12-2011, 22:25
Yep I have to get the rest of my gear together before I actually buy a pack but the sooner I assemble my gear the sooner I can take some weekend hikes and what-not! :)

Kerosene
11-13-2011, 11:56
The GG Blaze is pretty new offering; there aren't even any reports from field testers at BackpackGearTest.org (http://www.backpackgeartest.org/reviews/Packs/Internal%20and%20External%20Framed%20Backpacks/) yet. I have a lot of experience with the Nimbus Ozone model (3 lbs, 58L, up to 40 lbs), which I love but I usually carry about 25 pounds in total, and rarely above 30. My take is that the Blaze is more than large enough for a 3-season thru-hike, and if your equipment doesn't fit then you have some pruning to do. I'd be more interested in swapping for the Blaze if it were at least half a pound lighter and ideally closer to a 50L volume.

MarsAndBuddy
02-24-2015, 15:11