PDA

View Full Version : Planning a 2013 Documentary

jeremyds37
11-28-2011, 15:18
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to WhiteBlaze and I wanted to throw this out to you all, since you're the experts.
My wife and I are planning on a thru hike in 2013 when I get out of the Air Force. I'm planning on documenting our journey as a young, goofy, loving, married couple.
I've created a blog to get ideas rolling and post videos to get more practice filming/editing in the outdoors and on the trail.

Here's the blog, http://hitchedhike.blogspot.com/

Please give it a gander and let me know of anything that would help tell a better story. Things to focus on, and things to leave out.

Thanks!

jeremyds37
11-29-2011, 08:11
Thanks Jester!

Anyone interested in creating an on trail documentary should check this out: http://omails.blogspot.com/. Jester offers up some great advice to conciser for planning and undertaking this challenge.

takethisbread
11-30-2011, 07:05
My advice is to do 500 trail miles on the AT including one 150 mile trip. This forum is filled with aspiring documentarians, record setters, and book writers who don't end up succeeding, and I think the reason might be they are not Hikers first. Get the hiking down first. I think that the reason Jester made a good film as opposed to the hundred or so cats that started out with the intention of making a film, but never really did, was He knew what he was in for. He's a experienced thruhiker. If you invest your money and time into the film end of this I'd sure make sure you can deal with living outside for two rainy weeks, never mind 6 months. These are issues you and your lady have already conquered, and congrats if that's the case. Good luck and I look forward to watching your film.

Colter
11-30-2011, 09:23
Takethisbread has some good points, I'm sure Jester did too.

Look into the film permit issue. Public lands sometimes require them.