PDA

View Full Version : Do they DnD on the trail? A potential solo thru-hiker's lament.

bilbobaguette
12-02-2011, 04:43
I have been given a substantial gift. A week ago I realized that I am in a perfect position to carry out one of the biggest things on my to-do list. Ever since I read "A Walk in the Woods" in high school I have wanted to hike the Appalachian Trail. That was almost ten years ago. Holy cow, I'm 25? How did I get here so fast? I am currently floating in the post college graduate slump, living with my parents trying to figure out where I'm supposed to go next and how I'm ever going to pay off these student loans. I have come to the realization that with the exception of the aforementioned loans of doom, I do not have a single financial or personal burden tethering me to any one place. I'm single, I don't have any children, pets or property to concern myself with. I am a free agent. And this agent has a blank line on his dossier. I intend to fill that line with "somewhere in the mountains between Georgia and Maine".

I've got the gear. With the exception of a good raincoat, a camp stove, a sharp knife, and maybe some company, I am pretty well equipped. I intend to do a few practice runs before to determine those certain questions. Hammock or tent? Wool or down? Blundstone's or trail runners?

I've got the experience. While I never made it to Eagle, I scouted with the best of em and took away what was necessary for survival. Tons of hiking, including 10 days at Philmont. Also, most of my formative years were spent in the woods, walking about for no reason other than I had nowhere else to be. I also prefer to sleep on the floor. This drives my mother crazy for some reason and most people find it strange. I've never understood why.

I've got the trepidation. Can I really do it? Can I reeeeally do it? Can I do it alone? Will I be mauled by a bear or murdered by a repeat offender? (I'd take my chances with the bear, people are crazy)