PDA

View Full Version : Hello (newbie here, and potential section hiker)!

Skye
12-05-2011, 21:33
Hello, first off, I am really sorry if this is in the wrong section, I wasn't entirely certain where I should put something like this about section hiking and the fact that this is something entirely new to me!
So hi, you can call me Skye. My friends and I are graduating at the beginning of June, so we are planing to try and spend a week or two hiking and camping. For the longest time I have wanted to do at least a section of the AT. So we have decided that we would like to spend a minimum ;of two nights on the trail, but none of us will be able to spend more than a week or two away (it total there will be 3 to 6 of us, depending on how things play out over the next few months, and based on who goes we may be able to spend a good week or more) and the trip would happen some time between late June to early August.
Personally, although I hear it is the most difficult portion of the trail, I would like to start some where in Maine and work my way up to the end at Katahdin, but we could also start further south.

Does anyone have any opinions on what would most likely be best for the time of year? Also any advice on gear or books I should pick up? (we have the basics down in terms of gear, but like I said, none of us have experience outside of staying on a campground)

Also any opinions on what section would be good to do? And if possible a rough estimate on how long said sections might take? The most I have ever hiked in a day was roughly 9.5 miles, plus about a mile walking down the road back to the campgrounds.
But yeah, anyway, any advice/ideas/recommendations are greatly appreciated!

And again sorry if this is in the wrong section :'D

~~ ♥ Skye

Cookerhiker
12-05-2011, 22:58