PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Grade teacher looking for 2012 Thru-Hiker to pen-pal with my class

Mr. Page
12-07-2011, 14:53
I am a 3rd grade classroom teacher in NYC, looking for a 2012 thru-hiker that my students can learn from. Here are some ideas:
-Once a week (e.g. every Friday, every Wednesday) location updates via email, phone call, etc... that my students can plot on a wall map and keep in their math journals.
-Occasional paragraphs or descriptions that accompany a photo for students to follow up with on google earth and detailed state maps.
-We would send letters (and possible care packages!) to P.O.'s ahead of your location, so that you can read questions, hear about how helpful your communication is, and get a boost on those rainy days.
-I've done some 5 day AT trips and someday would love to thru-hike, so I'd also be living vicariously through you!
--Some requirements:
-Clean vocabulary in all communication: my students are 8 years old.
-Consistency: Whichever day we decide upon for an update, you have to come through the best you can. Maybe that means an update the day before or after for different reasons, but the children will be depending on consistency.
-Be yourself: This is not for someone looking to be famous, but for someone interested in helping out our math and geography curriculum in a really cool way.

Good luck on your 2012 thru-hike and let me know if you are interested!

-Aaron Page

nickbreid
12-07-2011, 15:06
Seems like a cool (and fun) idea, but wouldn't school let out shortly after the hiker begins and come back only shortly before he finishes?

Mr. Page
12-07-2011, 15:09
Good point. But our school year ends on June 10th, so we would have at least 3 months worth of data/communication to work with. I think they'd also love the idea of coming back in the first week of September to re-visit the updates and progress. What a great way to start off the new school year! It would also give the thru-hiker a 'break' for the summer!

CornerCreek27