PDA

View Full Version : Is "Navigation" really necessary?

Ric Hamel
12-07-2011, 15:32
Okay.....first, yes I have seen all the threads concerning maps,GPS's, guides and .GPX files etc, etc. My question isn't about which of these to use or pro's/cons or anything like that.

I simply want to know this...

Is it possible to thru-hike NOBO with no maps, guide or GPS at all? Can you gather enough info while walking to stay on the trail? Are trail connections fairly obvious?

Sorry if this reveals some serious ignorance on my part but I am just beginning to put together a Feb. 2012 departure. I do know the trail utilizes a shuttle at some point but I would guess that info would be accessible at the shelters.

Do you have to buy hundreds of dollars in section maps or carry a GPS to accomplish this trail?

Lone Wolf
12-07-2011, 15:38

Is it possible to thru-hike NOBO with no maps, guide or GPS at all? Can you gather enough info while walking to stay on the trail? Are trail connections fairly obvious?

yes. the trail is extremely well marked and signed.

Lemni Skate
12-07-2011, 15:40
It is definite possible to hike the AT without maps or guides. The trail is blazed pretty well and on the occassions when you might wander off the trail by missing a turn if you are paying any attention at all you'll notice pretty quickly you haven't seen a blaze and you can backtrack and get on the trail. The very few times I've done this I've had maps and trail guides with me and I don't ever remember having to use a map to navigate.

Spokes
12-07-2011, 15:49
Yes, it's possible except maybe in the Whites where you'll stop, curse the AMC, and wish you had a map. Very confusing up there.

Most thru's get by using only a guidebook without any problems. You'll learn to turn around to find blazes if you haven't seen any in a while.

Amanita
12-07-2011, 15:51
I think staying on the trail would be okay. Where/when to resupply is another issue.

Creek Dancer
12-07-2011, 15:54