PDA

View Full Version : New Backpacker - Training is an interesting experience.

smithjerd
12-08-2011, 19:30
I've been a cyclist for lots of years and have done some extended touring on bikes. Cyclists say that their best experiences are when they aren't even conscious of being on a bike. The bike simply disappears as part of the experience.

I'm new to backpacking and am leaving from Springer NOBO in late March. I started seriously training about two months ago and have been gradually increasing my pack weight and hiking distance. The past two weeks in particular I've noticed that I'm having the same experience with my backpack that I've had when I get into decent shaping cycling -- my back pack is simply disappearing from the experience. I'm currently carrying about 34 lbs and am hiking the trails here in the Raleigh NC area, and trying to find the most strenuous trails available in my limited area. When I started, I was aware of my pack all the time. Now I only notice it occasionally, and most of the time it's totally out of my consciousness. I'm feeling really psyched up.

Is this a common experience as you get into shape?

I've been planning an AT thru hike for more than 10 years, and am looking forward to being on the trail.

Jerome

Camping Dave
12-08-2011, 19:41
Your backpack disappeared from your cycling experience? ;)

Just like cycling or long distance running, the training is mostly mental. If you make it past the first 30 days your body will be in shape. Check out this book: http://www.amazon.com/Long-Distance-Hiking-Lessons-Appalachian-Trail/dp/0070444587

Lots of good gouge.

DaveSail
12-08-2011, 19:44
The " other side " is neat too ! Once you are used to the pack , and hike with it off , it seems like you are
weightless or flying ! Like if you are on a sailboat for a day , ( non - calm seas ) , and then go ashore , it
seems as if the ground is moving like the water !

David V. Webber

Rasty
12-08-2011, 20:36