PDA

View Full Version : sleeping bag liner

ekeverette
12-23-2011, 09:24
hey folks.... i plan on starting my thru around 1st of april. i have a 20 degree bag. i'm cold natured.... question: should i purchase a 35.00 dollar or so bag liner, or wait until neels gap... if i survive, and get one there?

moytoy
12-23-2011, 09:37
Go buy two yards of synthetic fleece 60" wide. Fold it and sew two sides shut. Get in it like getting in a sock and then get into sleeping bag. If you find you you don't need it leave it in a hiker box or a shelter, someone will use it.

Bags4266
12-23-2011, 10:02
Or you can use some of your clothes and not have to lug around a fleece bag

ekeverette
12-23-2011, 10:51
thanks guys, folks have always willing to help!

kayak karl
12-23-2011, 10:59
liners are a pain to use. at least you have this winter to try suggestions out.

Lyle
12-23-2011, 11:18
I find a silk liner (as opposed to fleece) very useful. Has many advantages and I use it year-round.

- Keeps expensive down sleeping bag cleaner
- Easy to launder frequently
- Packs very small
- Weighs under 5 oz
- Adds about 3* of warmth when you are buttoned down in your bag
- Adds substantial "breeze incursion resistance" (my term) when using your bag as a quilt and you move around
- Many summer nights it is all that is needed to sleep warmly
- The silk turns with me when I roll around, yet slides against the nylon bag, so the bag remains in place covering me as I roll underneath it. I'm a very restless sleeper, and the silk liner helps, not hinders.

It does come with one relatively minor drawback - SLIGHTLY more fiddly to get into your bag. The benefits FAR out-way this minor, and I do mean minor, hassle.

Tallpaul
12-23-2011, 12:51
Agree with silk liner is the way to go. Started my thru last year without one but bought one along the way. Kept my Western Mountaineering bag clean in March and in the summer I only slept in the liner.

daddytwosticks
12-23-2011, 17:11