PDA

View Full Version : Knife or Multi Tool?

BoBo
12-31-2011, 10:07
I would like your opinion on what to carry, basic knife or multi-tool? I'm new to back packing and have been on two trips of about 30 miles each carrying both, rarely used knife and didn't use multi-tool. I'm thinking ditch the multi-tool but I'm still dealing with what if. What do you folks think? Your opinion would be greatly appreciated and valued. Thanks

wornoutboots
12-31-2011, 10:08
you'll only need a small knife.

Happy Hiking

bamboo bob
12-31-2011, 10:11
I have never needed more than a tiny knife with maybe and inch and a half blade. But I carry a nifty small multi-tool knock off from cabelas because it's so cool to have:)

moldy
12-31-2011, 10:20
I carried the multi-tool but never used it. I now only carry a small 2 inch knife that has 2 blades one sharp and one is a flat tip screwdriver that can be used for prying. This knife is a US Navy issue TL-28 that was issued to me about 35 years ago.

endubyu
12-31-2011, 10:42
I'm the type that totes extra stuff. While I worked construction I had a multi-tool with me all of the time. I got used to that so I still carry one everywhere I go. I seldom use it on backpacking trips but it's nice to have when I do want it. It is extra weight but I suffer the weight to have it when I want/need it and would suffer not having it at that time. I also carry a VERY hefty Becker BK2. It weighs a full pound but I use it everyday, even on the AT! It comes down to personal preference, what you're comfortable with/without and whether carrying the extra weight is worth having it in a emergency. Also are you backpacking the AT or the Sipsey Wilderness? What you NEED for one will not be the same as for the other. Because you are new, I suggest you continue to carry both until you KNOW which YOU want to have, if either... Happy New Year!!!!

Summit
12-31-2011, 10:48