PDA

View Full Version : Mummy Bag Help

ljcsov
01-07-2012, 12:48
Hello all! I am just getting into backpacking and the entire sleeping in a mummy bag thing is new to me. Usually, I sleep in a queen size bed where I have the luxury of being able to sprawl all out. I am a stomach sleeper and find it a bit awkward transitioning to the confinement of a mummy bag. I feel like it is just going to take some time since the longer I was in there the more comfortable I felt. However, I feel like you guys would have some advice for the most comfortable ways to lay in the bag.

Thanks!

tuswm
01-07-2012, 13:02
Well it helps a lot when you are warm enough to leave your sleeping bag unzipped. I notice in a tent with a good sleeping pad I can stay unzipped even below freezing. Also wearing a hat helps to keep you warm. In the warmer months you might consider a quilt. I have been thinking about making one for the summer.

Tinker
01-07-2012, 13:04
Since you're a stomach sleeper and like to sprawl, I thought these might appeal to you. There is no insulation in the bottom. Instead, you use a pad, which becomes your insulation (down and synthetic insulations get crushed under the sleeper's weight, anyhow).
Take a look: https://www.bigagnes.com/Products/ProductFinder/Bag/filters/11

The nice thing about this type of bag is that you can sleep a bit cooler in warm weather by opting for a non-insulated sleeping pad for that use.

4eyedbuzzard
01-07-2012, 13:06
A couple of thoughts: Shop for bags with a wider girth measurement, or a semi rectangular bag, and also check out Montbell bags that stretch (Spiral series?). Some mummy bags are cut very tight for a couple of reasons: 1) The better the bag fits you (the less empty space between you and the bag) the warmer you will be, 2) The tighter the bag, the less material and down used and hence lighter weight.