PDA

View Full Version : Georgia in the summer?

shelb
01-07-2012, 23:16
As a teacher, I am doing my section hiking in the summer months (mid June - end of August). I have hiked in Virginia in July and Maryland/Pennsylvania in August.
1. How does Georgia compare in July/August to any of those? (Please advise on what it is like on the Trail, not in Atlanta!)
2. Is it more apt to be a lot different the last two weeks of June?
Thanks!

Lightfoot70
01-07-2012, 23:21
I live in north Georgia and all I can say is just be prepared to sweat. It can get pretty miserable. Hope and pray for a mild summer. Atleast it makes you appreciate the swim holes.

Papa D
01-07-2012, 23:23
The north Georgia mountains are certainly much cooler than Atlanta in the summer and can at times be rainy and cold but I'd say that warm temperatures are much more likely - MD and PA are probably good states to compare with. Clearly subtract 10-12 degrees from ATL, but if ATL is 100, that could make it 88 in the mts. - that would be about as bad as it would get. 78 is more likely.

Freedom Walker
01-07-2012, 23:25
Several WB members live in the North Ga area and can give great advice on this, plus it has come up before and you may be able to find the thread. From what I remember from the discussion it can be hot and humid, but in the mts a few degrees cooler than Atlanta.

Summit
01-07-2012, 23:41
You can count on hot and buggy from late June thru August. You'll be praying for some rain to cool things off. Nights can be miserable. I started out with no clothing on laying on top of my quilt and sweating. Mayyyybe by early morning it cools down enough to throw a lite cover over yourself. Hope you enjoy yourself!

shelb
01-08-2012, 00:35