PDA

View Full Version : Springer Mountain to Hot Springs in June/July?

Nebraska
01-18-2012, 10:20
I'm from Germany, this is my first post. I saw on the German-TV a report about the AT and since this time my thought are turning to make a thru hike.

This year I've the chance to visit the US and I plan to start a 3 week section hike, thinking to start in Springer Mountain in Mid-June, hope to reach Clingmans Dome and finisch the stretch in Hot Springs by the end of the first week in July.

I will encounter there a friend how will pick me up, hopefully. After this I will fly to Omaha, NE, because I was invited to a wedding party.
And here my question: Will be this section o.k., concerning the weather? Or maybe, is it to hot, to difficult , to crowded … ? I'm an rookie, 57 years old, I think me condition is o.k., was running a marathon 2 years ago.
I've decided for this stretch, because it seems to me the easiest way to get on and off the trail (Atlanta ./. Charlotte).

moldy
01-18-2012, 10:37
I made it to Hot Springs from Springer in 21 days. You should be able to do this without much difficulty. Your chief complaints will be insects and heat. With a normal amount of rainfall this year water will not be a problem. At this time of year with 16 or more hours of daylight when it's very hot I like to start hiking at sun-up and then take a nap in the shade in the hottest part of the afternoon. Then I continue hiking until sun-down. This section of trail has many ups and downs each day. Your hike is during the hot months I recommend sleeping or camping at higher altitudes where it's cooler and some of the insects don't like open windy places. Be sure to have a light 40 degree sleeping bag and a tent with insect netting.

Chaco Taco
01-18-2012, 10:38
I'm from Germany, this is my first post. I saw on the German-TV a report about the AT and since this time my thought are turning to make a thru hike.