PDA

View Full Version : New backpack

o hiker guy
01-19-2012, 19:16
I,ve been looking at the Gossamer backpacks. Please tell me the goods and bads for these packs. Thanks

garlic08
01-19-2012, 19:25
If you mean Gossamer Gear, I've been using one of their models for many years. My model is now discontinued, but I've been very happy with the quality, the design, the customer service, and the company in general. When I need a new pack, I'll get one of theirs. The only bad thing you could do with one of their packs is overload it.

skinewmexico
01-20-2012, 01:58
I'm very happy with my Mariposa Plus and Gorilla.

Bags4266
01-20-2012, 08:51
I have the new Murmur, and my girlfriend has the mariposa. I like the new design of the murmur just what I was looking for warm weather hiking...spot on. The mariposa is nice as well very big and ouside pockets hold alot. You would have to be careful with it cause the material is thin. The gorilla is heavier material but much smaller.

rusty bumper
01-20-2012, 10:38
I carried the Mariposa Plus on my almost thru-hike last year. I thought is was fantastic! My base load with cold weather clothing was 16 lbs and with 4 days of food and a liter of water, I was at about 26 lbs. The pack handled that load really well and I never suffered any discomfort. A couple of times I had to carry a few pounds more than that and I felt some strain in my shoulders, but by loosening up the shoulder straps just a bit, I got more of the load onto my hips and all was well again. The aluminum inverted u-shaped "stay" really helped hold the pack in close to my back and got the load down into the hip belt. I really liked the wide shoulder straps for distributing the shoulder load as well.