PDA

View Full Version : non-AT trail advice

java
03-16-2005, 15:13
Hi all, I'm just going to throw this out there:

I'm hoping to do a 3+/- week hike this summer (probably July), and for once I want to get off the AT (gasp!). I'm looking for ideas and recommendations for a nice distance hike of about 300 miles.

Here are some of my conditions/parameters/info, but feel free to recommend any trail at all, I'm just gathering ideas now:

Eastern/Southern/Middle US or Eastern Canada (I live in Maine)
I like mountains, but I like rolling terrain better. I'd rather do high miles than climb all day.
I'm a photographer, so I will be taking pictures. Pretty is good, people are good, vistas are nice.
I don't mind hiking one part of a larger trail, or combining several smaller ones near each other.
I'll be alone, for whatever that is worth.
I don't need lots of shelters, services, etc., and I can read a map.
Oh, and I'd like to hear from people with actual personal experience with the trail they're recommending.

Can't wait to hear what folks think!
Thanks,
-java:D
www.visualalex.com

hikerjohnd
03-16-2005, 15:22
The foothills trail (http://www.foothillstrail.org/current/menu.htm) might be a bit short, but that time of year, taking your time to hike it might be a good idea. I've not hiked it yet - but it's on my list!

The Solemates
03-16-2005, 15:31
Ive hiked the Foothills 3 times. Its nice, but only takes 5 days or so. He wanted something for 3 weeks.

Doc
03-16-2005, 15:42
Ever think about heading north on the IAT? The trail passes through some of the prettiest places in North America.

Doc

Youngblood
03-16-2005, 15:56