PDA

View Full Version : Start times and Sleeping Bag ratings?

psnipes
01-27-2012, 22:33
Depending on which month you start your thru-hike what type of temperature rating on your sleeping bag should you have? I have always been a very warm sleeper and currently have a nice lightweight 35(f) bag. If I were to start in late march/early april would I be ok? I have no experience hiking in the southern states and don't really know how the weather would be. I'm sure this is more or less a repost and found some threads on the topic but nothing that really answered my question. Sorry!

4eyedbuzzard
01-27-2012, 22:50
What's the lowest temp you have actually been warm at in that bag? Ratings are just a starting point. I've got a 35 deg WM Caribou that I've stayed warm in in the mid-20's with base layer and hat, but I wouldn't push it beyond that, and I definitely wouldn't trust it for a late March start. Asking to freeze.

Tinker
01-27-2012, 23:03
When I first considered hiking Georgia a couple of decades ago I contacted the Georgia section of the ATC and they said to be prepared for the same temperatures that I would experience at sea level the same time of year. In other words, if it's 35 degrees at night here in southern New England, count on it being around 35 in the Georgia mountains. The mountains in NC and Tenn. are higher, so expect colder temperatures there, even though it will take you a couple of weeks (or more) to reach them, and you'll be in them for a while.

Unless you have some down pants and a warm down jacket to wear inside your sleeping bag (and the space in the bag to accomodate them), I think you'll be cold at night a number of times unless you start later in the year, like mid-late April. I've read accounts of snow in the mountains of NC in early May. That may be something to consider.

A 35 degree bag is what I'd be looking at to hike in the White Mts. in the dead of summer.