PDA

View Full Version : New on the AT -- Looking for 5 or 6 day hike

ltw08
01-30-2012, 01:15
Hello all.

I'm a new resident to Middle Tennessee and am planning a trip to the AT in mid-March. I have an extensive amount of fourteener experience in the Rockies, but from the research I have done, the AT is a beast of a different nature. I'm looking for a new challenge in what is one of the most iconic and Americana places I can imagine. I figured my best bet would be to go to the people who know the AT the best -- you all. I'm looking for a 5 to 6 day hike in the Tennessee area.

I will just list my questions:
- What is a good 5 to 6 day section hike?
- How is the weather on the AT mid-March?
- How heavy would trail traffic be in TN/ NC around this time?
- Would you advise tent, fly, or using the shelters?
- Any other advice you wish to provide.

Thanks in advance for any help!

fredmugs
01-30-2012, 08:51
I did a 170 mile or so hike in mid-March 2009 from Dennis Cove Rd to Standing Bear farm near I-40. Weather was mostly in the 50s with lows dropping to around 30 each night. The trail was fairly crowded with spring break hikers and some thru hikers. I avoid shelters and never plan to use them.

I would recommend any stretch that includes Max Patch and the Beauty Spot. Standing Bear Farm to Erwin (100 miles I think) would be a good stretch since you can safely park on both ends.

moldy
01-30-2012, 10:36