PDA

View Full Version : Can we talk shoes?

Libertyguy
01-30-2012, 18:21
I have no experience buying long distance shoes for a thru. Everywhere I read trail runners are the way to go. I have been looking at the salomon xa pro and xa comp. I also like the crossmaxes and the vasque Juxt, which is actually a cross training/multisport shoe. I like the idea of these types of shoes over trail runners for the durability and suposed high milage. Can anyone give any other specific recomendations. Money is not an issue but I do not plan on buying 4 shoes as I make my way to maine. Also very curiouis about the vaswue juxt if anyone knows anything about them.

Thanks!

hikerboy57
01-30-2012, 18:26
please use the search function regarding shoes, its a subject that has no rules.you really need to get a few ideas already posted here and then get to an outfitter who can fit you properly. everyones foot is different and there is no one shoe that suits everone. personally id like to recommend my own boot of choice, Keen TargheeIIs(size 11.5)

swjohnsey
01-30-2012, 18:31
You likely ain't gonna make it on one pair no matter what you use.

johnnybgood
01-30-2012, 18:43
Money is not an issue but I do not plan on buying 4 shoes as I make my way to maine.

Thanks! One pair certainly won't hold up from GA-ME . The daily pounding of rocks and inclement weather will take it's toll on your shoes. Also, the size of your feet will certainly swell due to fluid retention so sizing up may be necessary as you make your way up the trail.

I too like the Keen Targhees,but some on this board hate them and therefore I suggest trying different shoes until you find what feels good to you.

BobTheBuilder
01-30-2012, 18:56
I've come to the conclusion that everybody's feet and shoe needs are different, but since you asked, this is my opinion. Your Mileage Will Definitely Vary.