PDA

View Full Version : Phone use

Drybones
02-01-2012, 17:19
I've been hiking for two years and now I'm ready for the long walk...I hope. I have downloaded the Thru Hiker Companion onto a smart phone and I am considering not taking the hard copy to save weight...12 oz. Any thoughts as to wheather or not that's a good move?

RWheeler
02-01-2012, 17:33
Smart phones tend to have shorter battery life. If you're using it for the companion, that's going to be a LOT of use, and the phone will likely die after a day.

Take a hard copy.

bigcranky
02-01-2012, 17:54
I like to scribble notes in my trail guide. Sort of a substitute for a journal. Harder to do that to a PDF file on a phone... :)

bamboo bob
02-01-2012, 20:06
I tried that just for fun. It really sucks up quite a bit of power if you refer to it all day.if you turn on any GPS gizmo it will drain pretty rapido. I usually keep my phone off. It is a pain to restart my phone, waiting for it to boot up if I just want to see how many miles to the next whatever would be frustrating. I'll take a phone but it will be off and I likely wont turn it on for days at a time. I generally just use it to call into a town for lodging in some spots that get crowded or maybe to coordinate a pick up by friends etc. If I was using it as a guide it would die for sure. I'll bring the book or at least pages. i like to refer to notes from previous hikes etc.

Don H
02-01-2012, 20:12
Buy the unbound copy of the AT Guide and carry a few hundred miles worth at a time.

Papa D
02-01-2012, 20:23
Buy the unbound copy of the AT Guide and carry a few hundred miles worth at a time.

This is my suggestion - you can do the same thing with the companion - I KNOW that I'm in the minority but I don't like electronics on the trail - so take whatever I say with a grain of salt. HYOH

Don H
02-01-2012, 21:01
Sure is nice to have those pages in a ziplock in your pocket where you can pull it out for a quick look.