PDA

View Full Version : First Time. Is GoLite Jam to small?

The Mighty Tiberious
02-06-2012, 00:13
Getting ready for my first Hiking trip on the Appalachian Trail. The Jam was on sale but is it to small for me?

I am a large guy. 6'2 288 Lb.
Will the Jam fit my body?

It is my first time and I am not a Ultra Light. Will the Jam fit all my gear?

Western Mountaineering Badger
Jetboil
TT SS1
1 change of cloths
Fleece, 2 sets of long underwear and rain gear.
Sandals
All the standard other toiletries, guide, camera most everyone takes.

Using a NeoAir. Does the Jam need a closed call pad? Will the Neo Air work?

Wise Old Owl
02-06-2012, 00:54
guess you saw that sale.... I don't have one, but drooled over that idea.... http://www.golite.com/Mens-Jam--P739.aspx
Before others answer ... what are you going to do section hike or something else...

skinewmexico
02-06-2012, 00:58
So what size Jam did you order?

Wise Old Owl
02-06-2012, 01:05
I don't think he bought it yet./

atmilkman
02-06-2012, 01:11
looks like the medium is the only one on sale pretty sure that wont work

The Mighty Tiberious
02-06-2012, 01:32
Bought the Lg GoLite Jam couple weeks ago for my Thru Hike.
Bought the Kestrel 68 to try out yesterday. Unsure about the Kestrel fit? Waiting for Jam to arrive. .
21" torso to neck.

The Osprey Kestrel 68 med/LG is on sale at Backwoods. The shoulder straps push into the back of my neck.
The measurement guide at the store puts me on the edge of the Med/Large but I am not sure about the fit?

Waiting to try Jam.

grayfox
02-06-2012, 10:21
You might find this video interesting as he uses the Jam: http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=endscreen&v=S-Frv7FaW7k

I recommend all the TGO videos--if you have some time to watch them.