PDA

View Full Version : itching to get out and do some hiking.

elytis
02-06-2012, 22:45
Hey guys and gals,

So it has been about 4 months since my last hike. I am itching to get back out and do some hiking. So I was thinking of going out this weekend but have some concerns about winter hiking. For those who have gone winter hiking, is hiking in the cold that much more difficult? It has been a verry mild winter here in Connecticut but I am worried that when I get to a shelter that the water source will have frozen, how often has this happened to you? I have a zero degree Mountain Hardware Phantom sleeping bag...will that be enough to keep me warm at night?

Any other advice is always welcome.

RWheeler
02-06-2012, 22:57
Well I don't know what part of CT you're looking at, but there is a chance at snow this weekend, and temps staying below freezing all day Sat/Sun. It's going to be more typical of winter than whatever it is we've had the last two and a half months.

I'd suggest taking more than you think you'd need. Since you're only going out for a short hike (I'm assuming like 2 days?), then the weight won't be as much of an issue. Be prepared to bail in case it's more than you were expecting?

As for frozen water, that might be likely, but since it won't be getting below freezing until Friday night, the ice shouldn't be thick. You should be able to crack through it easily - but be prepared to burn some fuel to melt down some ice just in case?

russb
02-06-2012, 22:57